University internship requirements in Pakistan, compared
University internship requirements in Pakistan all start from the same HEC rule: six to eight weeks of supervised work, needed for your degree. After that, every university adds its own conditions on timing, credit hours, documents and whether an online internship counts. This page puts those rules for 20 universities and departments side by side, then lists the documents almost all of them ask for.
Each row comes from the university’s own handbook, policy or scheme of study, linked at the bottom. Rules change, and departments inside one university can differ, so treat this as a map and confirm the details with your internship office.
University internship requirements at a glance
Read the row for your university, then the row for your programme if it is listed separately. “Not stated” means the source we read does not say. “Check with your department” means we could not confirm the detail from the university’s own page.
| University | Length | When | Credit hours | Online internship |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NUST | At least 6 weeks; BBA and Mass Comm 6 to 8; B.Arch 14 | Once, years 2 to 4 | 3, qualified / not qualified | Not stated |
| FAST-NUCES | Duration: check with your department | Any semester after the 3rd | 0+1, counts in final CGPA | check with your department |
| COMSATS | Duration: check with your department | check with your department | 3 (BSCS course CSC395) | check with your department |
| UET Lahore | 6 to 8 weeks (BSc Civil from 2024) | 6th semester | Non-credit, qualifying | check with your department |
| UET Taxila | Computer Engg 6 to 8 weeks; Electronics 4 to 6 | Summer | 0 | check with your department |
| PU, Software Engineering | At least 6 weeks full-time | Any time, ideally summer after 6th | 0 | Only with prior department approval |
| PU-IAS (BS Management) | At least 42 days | After 6th or 7th semester | 6 | Fully online not accepted |
| UMT (BS Education) | 8 to 9 consecutive weeks, 30 to 35 hours a week | After 4th, ideally summer | Graded | Not stated |
| UCP (BBA) | At least 6 weeks; summer semester 8 weeks | After 3rd year | Non-credit, pass / fail | check with your department |
| Air University | BS Data Science 6 weeks | Summer after 4th | 3, graded | check with your department |
| Bahria | 6 to 8 weeks, at least 6 (check with your department) | After 4 semesters, CGPA 2.5 | Non-credit | check with your department |
| IIUI (BSCS 2024) | 8 weeks | Ideally summer | Non-credit, degree requirement | check with your department |
| NUML | Where the programme requires it | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Virtual University (BBA) | 6 to 8 weeks | CGPA 2.0 and 105 credit hours | Not stated | Not stated |
| AIOU (BS Economics) | 6 to 8 weeks | After the required courses | Not stated | Virtual internship accepted |
| CUST | 6 to 8 weeks; CS about 40 hours a week | Usually summer; CS after 90 credit hours | Pass / fail | Policy allows it; CS 2025 notice bars remote |
| IBA Karachi | 6 to 8 weeks at one organisation | After 4 semesters, before 7th | Not stated | Host must be registered and verifiable |
| NED (CIS) | At least 8 weeks in total, one stint of 4+ (check with your department) | Ideally after 4th | Not stated | Fully remote not accepted; hybrid allowed |
| GIKI | At least 8 weeks industrial training | Summer | Not stated | Not stated |
| MUST (AJK), BSCS / BSIT | 6 to 8 weeks | Any summer after 4th | 3, graded in 8th semester | Not stated |
The HEC rule behind all of this is explained on our HEC internship policy page. In short: six to eight weeks, 3 credit hours, graded by your faculty together with your supervisor at work.
Documents nearly every university asks for
The forms have different names, but the set is close to identical across universities. Expect to need the following.
| Stage | Document | Who asks for it |
|---|---|---|
| Before | Approval form, or the host’s acceptance or offer letter on letterhead | PU software engineering, PU-IAS, IBA, NUML |
| Before | Terms of reference or a work plan agreed with your faculty supervisor | HEC guidelines, NUML, NCEAC, PEC |
| Before | Proof the host is real: website, postal address, registration | CUST, IBA |
| During | Weekly log signed by your site supervisor | HEC guidelines, CUST, UMT |
| During | Attendance record kept by the host | UMT, CUST |
| During | Evaluation on the university’s form, every 1 to 3 weeks | UMT weekly, CUST every 2 weeks, HEC guidelines every 3 |
| After | Completion certificate on letterhead, signed and stamped, with dates and work done | UMT, PU-IAS (attested), Bahria, VU |
| After | Final appraisal or evaluation form, sometimes sealed, within two weeks | IBA, PU software engineering, NED |
| After | Report, then a viva or presentation | PU-IAS, CUST, NED, AIOU |
Templates help. See the offer letter format, the log book format, the evaluation form, the certificate format and the report format. If your department wants a letter from you or from the university first, use the university internship letter and NOC templates.
Online internships: where the rules split
This is the question students ask most, and the honest answer is that it depends on your department.
- Accepted: AIOU’s BS Economics manual lists virtual internship as a valid type. The older HEC internship guidelines allow onsite or virtual placements.
- Accepted with approval: PU’s software engineering department prefers onsite work and allows remote or freelance work only with its prior approval.
- Not accepted when fully online: PU-IAS, NED’s CIS department (hybrid is allowed) and CUST’s 2025 guidelines for computer science.
If you want to work remotely, get the approval in writing before you start. If your department refuses, an onsite or hybrid placement solves it. More on this on our online internship in Pakistan page.
Extra rules for computer science students
- The work must be computing work. PU’s software engineering department counts software work only, not data entry. CUST’s 2025 computer science guidelines exclude SEO, marketing, e-commerce and Excel work.
- The host must be a registered company. CUST’s computer science notice asks for the company’s SECP registration number and FBR NTN on the offer letter (check with your department).
- Six to eight consecutive weeks. The NCEAC accreditation manual asks for one continuous placement in a professional computing organisation, with a report from the host.
How to pick a host your university will accept
- A registered organisation with a website and an office you could visit.
- A named supervisor with a designation and a company email address. IBA does not accept a Gmail address for the supervisor.
- Work that matches your degree, agreed in writing before day one.
- Someone at the host who will fill in your university’s forms on time, not only at the end.
- A certificate that states your real dates and real work. Avoid anyone selling a certificate, attendance sheets or signatures. Universities check, and press reports have already described students paying for exactly that.
Where Ezitech fits, and where it does not
Ezitech Software House, Rawalpindi, was founded in 2015, is registered with the Pakistan Software Export Board and holds an NTN with FBR. Interns join onsite or remotely for one, two or three months, on live client projects with a named mentor who reviews their work every week. The programme is fee-based and unpaid; see the fee and refund policy.
- Documents: an offer letter before you start; a certificate and experience letter at the end with a QR code anyone can check on portal.ezitech.org.
- Records: tasks and daily check-ins with hours on the intern portal.
- For your university: its internship office can have its own University Portal login to see your tasks, hours, evaluations and dates, download your offer letter, certificate and a progress report, and upload its own forms for us to fill and sign. The student does nothing. See internship placement for universities.
Where we do not fit: if your department refuses fully remote internships, you need to join onsite in Rawalpindi or agree a hybrid pattern with it. Our usual load is about 25 hours a week, so if your handbook asks for 40, agree the hours with your mentor and department first. Computer science students at CUST should pick a development track, not marketing. We do not issue certificates without the work, urgent certificates or backdated letters.
Find an internship that meets your university’s rules
Choose a track on the internship programme page, or start your application now.
Questions students ask
What are the internship requirements for university students in Pakistan?
Most universities ask for six to eight weeks at one organisation, approved before you start, with an offer letter, a weekly log, evaluations by your site supervisor, a completion certificate on letterhead and a report or viva at the end. The exact length, timing and credit depend on your university and programme.
What is the NUST internship requirement?
NUST’s 2026 undergraduate handbook makes an internship of at least six weeks a degree requirement, done once between the second and fourth year at an organisation related to the degree. It carries 3 credit hours and shows on the transcript as qualified or not qualified.
What are the VU internship requirements?
For BS Business Administration, Virtual University asks for six to eight weeks once you have a CGPA of at least 2.0 and at least 105 credit hours, with a report and a completion certificate. Students already in a job can ask for an exemption with a job confirmation letter. Other VU programmes have their own rules.
Do universities accept online internships?
Some do and some do not. AIOU treats a virtual internship as a valid type, and PU’s software engineering department accepts remote work with prior approval. CUST for computer science, PU-IAS and NED do not accept a fully online internship.
Can I do my internship at any company?
Usually not. Universities want a registered organisation whose work relates to your degree, with a named supervisor they can contact. Some exclude family businesses and call centres, and new or unknown firms may need prior approval.
How many hours a week does a university internship need?
Few universities state it. CUST asks computer science interns for about 40 hours a week and UMT’s education programme for 30 to 35. If your handbook gives a number, agree it with the host before you start.
Which semester should I do my internship in?
Most universities expect it after the fourth semester, usually in the summer. Some add conditions, such as 90 credit hours for computer science at CUST, or a 2.0 CGPA and 105 credit hours for BBA at Virtual University.
Sources
HEC: Undergraduate Education Policy V1.1 (PDF)
NUST: UG Student Handbook 2026 (PDF)
UET Lahore: Civil Engineering undergraduate programmes
UET Taxila: Computer Engineering courses
University of the Punjab: Software Engineering internships
University of the Punjab: IAS internship guidelines (PDF)
UMT: Internship Manual, BS Education (PDF)
Air University: Regulations 2025 (PDF)
Bahria University: academic guidance
IIUI: Scheme of Study BSCS 2024 (PDF)
NUML: Placement, Internship and Alumni Policy 2022 (PDF)
Virtual University: BS Business Administration rules
AIOU: Internship manual, BS Economics (PDF)
CUST: Internship Policy 2025 (PDF)
IBA Karachi: Corporate research internship policy 2026 (PDF)
